LGU San Jacinto adopts DSWD Kalahi-CIDSS’ Bayani Ka! Awards

Published by Connie Barrameda on

Community volunteers, LGU officials and partners attend the Municipal Bayani Ka! Awards last November 25, 2019 at San Jacinto, Masbate.

The local government unit (LGU) of San Jacinto, Masbate honored community volunteers during the Municipal Bayani Ka! Awards last November 25, 2019.

San Jacinto is the fourth municipality that adopted the Department of Social Welfare and Development Kapit-Bisig Laban sa Kahirapan – Comprehensive and Integrated Delivery of Social Services’ (DSWD Kalahi-CIDSS’) Bayani Ka! Awards in the Bicol Region.

The first Municipal Bayani Ka! Awards was initiated by the municipality of Bato in Catanduanes last 2016 while Casiguran in Sorsogon and Mandaon in Masbate followed.

Moreover, the awarding ceremony was launched in 2014 to recognize exemplary communities and partners that engaged in DSWD Kalahi-CIDSS and whose efforts remarkably furthered the compassionate collective action in their municipalities.

The municipality funded the said event amounting to Php270,000.00.

The nominees were evaluated based on Bayani Ka! Awards’ criteria specifically on their selflessness to serve (20%), ability (20%), persuasion (20%), attitude and motivation (20%) and integrity (20%).

Here is the list of municipal winners:

Best Barangay Representation Team (BRT) Barangay Interior
Best Project Preparation Team (PPT) Barangay Danao
Best Community Bookkeeper Nelia Escorel of Barangay Jagna-an
Best Procurement Team (PT) Barangay Jagna-an
Best Project Implementation Team (PIT) Barangay Almiñe
Best Monitoring and Inspection Team (MIT) Barangay Interior
Best Bids and Awards Committee (BAC) Barangay Jagna-an
Best Audit and Inventory Team (AIT) Barangay Dorong-an Daplian
Best Operation and Maintenance Group Barangay Poblacion District 2
Best Barangay Sub-Project Management Committee (BSPMC) Barangay Dorong-an Daplian
Best Gender and Development Volunteer Jhonnel De los Santos of Barangay Piña
Best Youth Volunteer Dindo Antiquerra of Barangay Bartolabac
Best Senior Citizen Community Volunteer Manuel Esparza of Barangay Piña and Edde Almoguerra of Barangay Roosevelt
Best Barangay Secretary Zaldy Dejino Sr. of Barangay Mabini
Best Barangay Treasurer Ramon E. Lumberio Jr. of Barangay Poblacion District 4
Best Barangay Council Barangay Poblacion District 4
Best Barangay Captain Josefita Magdaraog of Barangay Mabini
Best Sub-Project Implementation Barangay Roosevelt
Best Community-Driven Development (CDD) Story Nena Cantonjos of Barangay Bagacay
Best BSPMC Chairperson Cerconsecion E. Escorel of Barangay Jagna-an

During the ceremony, Cerconsecion Escorel, a community volunteer of Barangay Jagna-an who was honored as Best BSPMC Chairperson shared how DSWD Kalahi-CIDSS made her realized that her capabilities can be used at a good cost.

Hindi man tayo mayaman at kulang ang ating kaalaman ngunit mayroon tayong oras at lakas handang ilaan sa komunidad (We may not be rich and don’t have the knowledge, but we have time and strength that are ready to devote to the community),” she said.

Categories: news